Disclaimer: I was sent this product for free, and all opinions are ones I have developed through my use of the product. I have not been paid or sponsored by anyone associated with this product.

Recently my mare has discovered burrs. There is only one burr bush in her field, and she has managed to find it several days in a row. And I don’t just mean one or two burrs. I mean, covered. Tangled. I own a unicorn.

Tess looking less than amused that I am attempting to undo her handiwork with the burrs.
Tess looking less than amused that I was attempting to undo her handiwork with the burrs.

Tess normally has quite a thick, full forelock. It certainly makes braiding easier on good days, but man, that forelock was not my friend when I was trying to get the burrs out. She managed to wrap her entire forelock up into a knot around the burrs. I was worried that I would end up pulling her entire forelock out trying to get them out!

So many burrs.
So many burrs.

Enter Ponytail Products Show Pony Shine! Equus Now! gifted me this serum to try a few months ago, and I haven’t really gotten to put it to the test before now. The high gloss serum is made of a “unique blend of Argan, Avocado, and Macadamia Seed oils.” Let me tell you, this stuff smells amazing. I’m pretty sure it’s nicer than the products I use on my own hair! The company offers a “human-grade horse grooming collection inspired by a passion for horses and an appreciation of timeless equestrian style.”

No more burrs!
No more burrs!

Not only does this serum smell amazing, but it worked perfectly for getting the burrs out. I covered her forelock in it, and the oils made it easy for me to slide the burrs right out! No pulling or tugging or losing precious forelock in the process. And it left her forelock soft and shiny after I was finished. I went through and did her entire mane and tail with it afterwards!

A little wavy, but it's all still there!
A little wavy, but it’s all still there!

Overall, I really like this gloss serum! Tess’s fly sheet has a neck cover that has made her mane a little bit frizzy, but it smoothed out her mane and tail nicely. The smell is great, and it didn’t leave my hands feeling sticky or gross. I feel like my hands were actually much softer after using it! I did struggle to get the tack room door open while I was in the middle of pulling the burrs out because of the oils, but no harm!

If you’re looking for new grooming products, give Ponytail Products a try! They are available at some tack stores, as well as on their website! I’m looking forward to trying some of their other products in the future!

Ponytail Products can be found on the following social media channels:

Instagram: @ponytail_products

Facebook: Ponytail Products

Twitter: @ponytailusa

One thought on “Product Review: Ponytail Products Show Pony Shine

Leave a Reply

